Registrants Named Executive Officer Compensation as of September 30, 2019

Contract Categories: Human Resources - Compensation Agreements
EX-10.2 3 exhibit102q1fy20.htm NAMED EXECUTIVE OFFICER COMPENSATION AS OF SEPTEMBER 30, 2019 Exhibit

As of September 30, 2019
The following table sets forth the annual base salaries, as of September 30, 2019, of the Named Executive Officers1 (the “NEOs”) of Franklin Resources, Inc. (the “Company”).
Name and Principal Positions 
Annual Base Salary
Gregory E. Johnson
Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer

Matthew Nicholls
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Jennifer M. Johnson
President and Chief Operating Officer

Craig S. Tyle
Executive Vice President and General Counsel

Jed A. Plafker
Executive Vice President

The NEOs are also eligible to:

Incentive Compensation2 

receive an annual cash incentive award pursuant to the Company’s Amended and Restated Annual Incentive Compensation Plan and/or the Company’s 2014 Key Executive Incentive Compensation Plan, each as amended and restated;

participate in the Company’s equity incentive program under which they may be granted restricted stock awards and/or restricted stock unit awards (including both time- and performance-based awards) pursuant to the Company’s 2002 Universal Stock Incentive Plan, as amended and restated; and

receive additional cash and/or equity awards for special recognition of significant contributions or for retention purposes (which may include time- and performance-based awards).

Benefit Plans and Other Arrangements

participate in the Company’s broad-based benefit programs generally available to its salaried employees, including health, disability and life insurance programs, the Franklin Templeton 401(k) Retirement Plan and the Company’s 1998 Employee Stock Investment Plan, as amended and restated (the “ESIP”); provided that Mr. G. Johnson and Ms. J. Johnson may not participate in the ESIP pursuant to applicable rules; and

receive certain perquisites offered by the Company, including club memberships, and, in certain limited cases, use of the Company’s aircraft for personal use.

The NEOs listed herein are the Company’s current chief executive officer, current chief financial officer, and the three other most highly compensated executive officers of the Company as of September 30, 2019.

Mr. Nicholls joined the Company in May 2019. Under the terms of his offer letter, Mr. Nicholls is eligible to earn an annual incentive award of $2.6 million for fiscal year 2020, and has certain severance protections during the first two years of his employment.